Time As We Know It

h-3-30-sunrise-snail
Sunrise Snail

I spent all day yesterday telling myself not to waste time.

I wasted time.

I got distracted, an all too easy a thing for me to do, and time slipped away like a furtive child who has snitched cookies off the cooling racks mother left unattended on the counter, and now hears mom returning to the kitchen.

Small. Quiet.

Seconds. Minutes. And yes, hours too, slipping away to wherever it is time goes when it’s gone.

I will be working on the same project today, and again I’ll be telling myself not to waste time and doing my best to act on that timely advice.

Time.

1) the indefinite continued progress of existence and events in the past, present and future regarded as a whole: the progress of time as affecting people and things: time or an amount of time as reckoned by a conventional standard …

We have always been ruled by time, even when it was only the rising of the sun and the going down of the same pacing our lives with light or its absence.

“Make hay while the sun shines.”

Snail days, that mosey along and seem to take forever to get from point A to point B.

Lightening days that flash and fade to what seems to be a night come too soon.

It seems weird to me sometimes that we are dominated by something so capricious …

yet so structured that we now can chart it to the nanosecond.

 

May you handle your time well today – as well as any of us can handle such a mercurial master.

And I’ll endeavor to do the same. 😉

Hugs from Pearl. 😊

5 thoughts on “Time As We Know It

  1. Give yourself tiny goals, all through the day.

    In a way it’s like working a jigsaw puzzle. You don’t try to fill in all the pieces at once, if you’re like me you take an interesting bit and build on it with the other bits that look like it, and when that’s done you find another interesting puzzle piece and do the same thing. Sooner or later you start seeing where those go in relation to the puzzle overall.

    And there always comes a point where you start trying to fit red leave pieces onto sky pieces, and it’s time to quit and have a cup of tea. =)

    Tiny goals, tiny steps.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Speaking of tiny goals, I liked your post for a few reasons! First, I had to look up 3 words in your blog because I didn’t understand them and I thought they sounded cool. I’ve taken to collecting new words, putting them on recipe cards, and trying to use them where appropriate. Second, I liked the sentence “And yes, hours too, slipping away to wherever it is time goes when it’s gone.” Like mercury, you can try to grab onto it, but it will slip out and inevitably away for good. I wonder, wherever IS it that time goes to when it’s gone? I’m sure a quantum physicist could answer that but I think it would make a really great song or poem. Just saying.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Marlies 😊

      I’m glad I was able to add some new words to your collection! That is such a cool idea. 😀

      Maybe a quantum physicist could write the song or poem? I’ve been amazed at how many musicians actually trained to be things like physicists. Like Brian May and Tex Logan (he was a nationally know Bluegrass fiddler). Music is very mathematical. 😉

      Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, music is indeed very mathematical, I wholeheartedly agree with you there. I wouldn’t have known exactly how mathematical unless I’d studied for years in theory and counterpoint. Not really that it did me much good other than to get music certificates…I’m sure they’re in boxes somewhere lol! My newest word is “irreverent.” Never used it before, didn’t have a clue what it was, thought it sounded cool, into the card collection it went. I would not be surprised at all if a quantum physicist could write an amazing poem. 🙂

        Like

  3. i found one word that my fingers typed and my one good eye missed: it should be leaf pieces not leave pieces…sigh.
    but beyond that, thank you. Not sure how to build that sentence into a poem, but you make a good point. It may just surface someday, you never know.

    Collecting new words is always fun. Im a heavy reader, and love crosswords and Scrabble, so strange words have a tendency to surface now and then.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

