Playing Hooky

yard cropped
The view from the garage door into our backyard.

I just came inside from playing hooky.

No. Not hockey. That’s a sport and hooky is an avoidance.

Hooky is not showing up somewhere you’re supposed to show up – on purpose.

Just because you decide not to.

It can also be leaving somewhere you’re supposed to be on a whim.

It can even be for only part of the day, or a short time, and then showing back up. And that is what I did today. I skipped out, played hooky, from my website work, from my writing (Have I mentioned I’m an author?), from housework (Have I mentioned that when I’m not being an author I’m a homemaker?) … and yes, from writing this blog post.

I played hooky by leaving my house and going outside into my back yard.

I know. The big adventurer here.

But my yard, in fact most yards if they have some grass or plants in containers or bird feeders, can offer adventures if you enjoy observing, and photographing, nature.

The adventure often comes from enduring harsh conditions . . .

Okay, usually not so harsh, though I’ve been known to be out in the rain, 90° F and higher temperatures, and I once went out on our patio in a blizzard and took a selfie just to get a feel for why I didn’t want to go outside in blizzards.

Pearl in the blizzard
Yep. Very cold, windy and snowy.

Today was hot and very humid. Yuck!

But I played hooky anyway.

To look at something other than my home office room and my kitchen. To feel the rare breeze as it floated by. To smell the earth, still damp from the rain last night.

To ease my mind and fill it with something refreshing.

And to take photos.

 

*SIGH* Now I feel like writing!

Do you ever play hooky from your responsibilities? Do you go somewhere, escape to some daydreams? What do you do while you’re there? Do you take the whole day or only part of it?

Hugs from Pearl

pearlrmeaker.com

2 thoughts on “Playing Hooky

Leave a Reply

